February 23, 2020
Print This PagePrint This Page

Bill #:
Chamber: View Search Tips
Search Term:
Year: View Search Tips
Search Term:
HR 9031

House Resolution
2A resolution commending the members of the Florida High
3School Athletic Association for producing student athlete
4football players who excel on the high school and
5collegiate levels.
7     WHEREAS, the Florida High School Athletic Association, the
8official governing body for interscholastic athletics in the
9state, is composed of member schools who work cooperatively to
10provide opportunities for high school student athletes to
11participate in interscholastic athletic programs, and
12     WHEREAS, Florida high school student athletes Matt Elam,
13Chaz Green, Christian Jones, Lamarcus Joyner, Corey Lemonier,
14Jeff Luc, Ivan McCartney, and Jaylen Watkins comprised 8 of the
15top 50 ranked high school football recruits in the nation, and
16     WHEREAS, 152 collegiate student athlete football players
17from Florida competed for various schools across the country in
18NCAA conference championship title games in 2009: 24
19representing Central Michigan University and Ohio University in
20the Marathon MAC Championship Game, 11 representing East
21Carolina University and the University of Houston in the
22Conference USA Championship Game, 83 representing the University
23of Alabama and the University of Florida in the Southeastern
24Conference Title Game, 3 representing the University of
25Nebraska-Lincoln in the Big Twelve Championship Game, and 31
26representing the Georgia Institute of Technology and Clemson
27University in the Atlantic Coast Conference Championship Game,
29     WHEREAS, in 2009, 63 student athletes from Florida
30represented the highest ranking teams in various athletic
31conferences throughout the nation: 7 representing the University
32of Cincinnati, 8 representing the Ohio State University, 18
33representing the United States Naval Academy, 1 representing the
34University of Oregon, 27 representing Troy University, and 2
35representing Boise State University, and
36     WHEREAS, Floridians Javier Arenas, Terrence Cody, P.J.
37Fitzgerald, Star Jackson, Marquis Johnson, Mike Johnson, Colin
38Peek, Trent Richardson, Chris Rogers, Edd Stinson, Roy Upchurch,
39and Nick Williams were members of the University of Alabama's
402010 Bowl Championship Series Championship team, NOW, THEREFORE,
42Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of
45     That the Florida House of Representatives proudly commends
46the members of the Florida High School Athletic Association for
47producing student athlete football players who excel on the high
48school and collegiate levels.
49     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be
50presented to the Florida High School Athletic Association as a
51tangible token of the sentiments expressed herein.

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.
Site Map
Session:   Bills ·   Calendars ·   Bound Journals ·   Citator ·   Search ·   Appropriations ·   Redistricting ·   Bill Information Reports
Committee Publications
Historical Information
Statutes:   Introduction ·   View Statutes ·   Search Statutes
Disclaimer: The information on this system is unverified. The journals or printed bills of the respective chambers should be consulted for official purposes.    Copyright © 2000-2020 State of Florida.     Privacy Statement     Contact Us     Get Acrobat Reader