October 01, 2020
Print This PagePrint This Page

Bill #:
Chamber: View Search Tips
Search Term:
Year: View Search Tips
Search Term:
Select Year:
The Florida Statutes

The 2010 Florida Statutes(including Special Session A)

Title IV
Chapter 14
View Entire Chapter
F.S. 14.20195
14.20195 Suicide Prevention Coordinating Council; creation; membership; duties.There is created within the Statewide Office for Suicide Prevention a Suicide Prevention Coordinating Council. The council shall develop strategies for preventing suicide.
(1) SCOPE OF ACTIVITY.The Suicide Prevention Coordinating Council is a coordinating council as defined in s. 20.03 and shall:
(a) Advise the Statewide Office for Suicide Prevention regarding the development of a statewide plan for suicide prevention, with the guiding principle being that suicide is a preventable problem. The statewide plan must:
1. Align and provide direction for statewide suicide prevention initiatives.
2. Establish partnerships with state and private agencies for the purpose of promoting public awareness of suicide prevention.
3. Address specific populations in this state who are at risk for suicide.
4. Identify ways to improve access to crisis services for individuals in acute situations.
5. Identify resources to support the implementation of the statewide plan.
(b) Assemble an ad hoc advisory committee comprised of members from outside the council, if necessary, in order for the council to receive advice and assistance in carrying out its responsibilities.
(c) Make findings and recommendations regarding suicide prevention programs and activities. The council shall prepare an annual report and present it to the Governor, the President of the Senate, and the Speaker of the House of Representatives by January 1, 2008, and each year thereafter. The annual report must describe the status of existing and planned initiatives identified in the statewide plan for suicide prevention and any recommendations arising therefrom.
(2) MEMBERSHIP.The Suicide Prevention Coordinating Council shall consist of 28 voting members.
(a) Thirteen members shall be appointed by the director of the Office of Drug Control and shall represent the following organizations:
1. The Florida Association of School Psychologists.
2. The Florida Sheriffs Association.
3. The Suicide Prevention Action Network USA.
4. The Florida Initiative of Suicide Prevention.
5. The Florida Suicide Prevention Coalition.
6. The American Foundation of Suicide Prevention.
7. The Florida School Board Association.
8. The National Council for Suicide Prevention.
9. The state chapter of AARP.
10. The Florida Alcohol and Drug Abuse Association.
11. The Florida Council for Community Mental Health.
12. The Florida Counseling Association.
13. NAMI Florida.
(b) The following state officials or their designees shall serve on the coordinating council:
1. The Secretary of Elderly Affairs.
2. The State Surgeon General.
3. The Commissioner of Education.
4. The Secretary of Health Care Administration.
5. The Secretary of Juvenile Justice.
6. The Secretary of Corrections.
7. The executive director of the Department of Law Enforcement.
8. The executive director of the Department of Veterans’ Affairs.
9. The Secretary of Children and Family Services.
10. The director of the Agency for Workforce Innovation.
(c) The Governor shall appoint four additional members to the coordinating council. The appointees must have expertise that is critical to the prevention of suicide or represent an organization that is not already represented on the coordinating council.
(d) For the members appointed by the director of the Office of Drug Control, seven members shall be appointed to initial terms of 3 years, and seven members shall be appointed to initial terms of 4 years. For the members appointed by the Governor, two members shall be appointed to initial terms of 4 years, and two members shall be appointed to initial terms of 3 years. Thereafter, such members shall be appointed to terms of 4 years. Any vacancy on the coordinating council shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment, and any member who is appointed to fill a vacancy occurring because of death, resignation, or ineligibility for membership shall serve only for the unexpired term of the member’s predecessor. A member is eligible for reappointment.
(e) The director of the Office of Drug Control shall be a nonvoting member of the coordinating council and shall act as chair.
(f) Members of the coordinating council shall serve without compensation. Any member of the coordinating council who is a public employee is entitled to reimbursement for per diem and travel expenses as provided in s. 112.061.
(3) MEETINGS.The coordinating council shall meet at least quarterly or upon the call of the chair. The council meetings may be held via teleconference or other electronic means.
History.s. 2, ch. 2007-46; s. 1, ch. 2008-6; s. 2, ch. 2010-159; s. 1, ch. 2010-204.
Site Map
Session:   Bills ·   Calendars ·   Bound Journals ·   Citator ·   Search ·   Appropriations ·   Redistricting ·   Bill Information Reports
Committee Publications
Historical Information
Statutes:   Introduction ·   View Statutes ·   Search Statutes
Disclaimer: The information on this system is unverified. The journals or printed bills of the respective chambers should be consulted for official purposes.    Copyright © 2000-2020 State of Florida.     Privacy Statement     Contact Us     Get Acrobat Reader