Skip to Top Navigation | Skip to Side Navigation | Skip to Main Content

Florida Facts

Branches of Government

The Capitol Complex Florida's government is divided into three branches: the executive, the legislative, and the judicial. The Governor, as head of the executive branch, tells the legislators, in a speech at the beginning of session, the state issues that he has determined need to be worked on during that session. The Lieutenant Governor helps the Governor to keep those issues in the minds of the legislators. The executive branch executes the laws. The judges and justices of the judicial branch determine the facts, interpret the law, and make rulings in cases brought to court. The legislative branch has exclusive law-making power and determines the general policies by which the problems of society are to be met. It may delegate limited rulemaking power to some executive agencies.

Senate State of Florida Seal

Welcome Executive Branch Leaders Government Branches Florida Facts Florida Timeline Capitol Tour 1985 State Seal Symbols of Florida The Right to Vote Site Map Email Us Legal Stuff Kids Handbook Get Acrobat Reader